Sussex Contemporary art exhibition

The week before last was so busy as I had to deliver my piece, Sea-blooms and Oozy Woods to the i360 in Brighton for an exhibition of contemporary art on the theme Metamorphosis. I was so excited to be selected for this exhibition. The private view was on Saturday, and my lovely daughter accompanied me and obligingly took my photo.

At the Sussex Contemporary
Sea-blooms and Oozy Woods

I made this piece during COVID using a lot of recycled and found items. You can read about it here.

There is some amazing art in the exhibition, including some textiles.

Triffid

I loved this recycled denim sculpture.

Spine by Karen Lintott

This piece of felt with added embellishments is just yummy.

The detail in this photo was amazing.

Gas Holder, Black Rock by Rosie Good

I was delighted to see a Tetra-Pak print, as I’m running a workshop next month on this technique at Wey Valley Workshop.

Abandoned House
Detail

We were both in love with this doll’s house. There were roots through the table and branches out of the roof – amazing.

Collage of stamps

Magnolia triptych

This is the middle of a beautiful pen and ink drawing of a magnolia as the flowers emerge. Each image was dated and the three had been drawn to create a complete image of the tree.

Motley bug

Finally a bit of mixed media.

The private view was very busy, so I realise there is loads of art I failed to photograph, such as a fantastic Ming horse made of junk or a huge photo of the sea. I also failed to record the artists in several cases, so my apologies for the lack of credits.

The exhibition finishes at the end of this week, so if you’re in Brighton do visit, as it’s well worth it.

Leave a comment