Sashiko darning

I’ve been seeing some lovely embroidered patches on Pinterest, and as I’ve just gone through one knee of my jeans I thought that rather than cut them up for another project I’m planning I’d have a go at Sashiko. I love pattern, so this appeals to me.

image

Having picked a straight pattern (some patterns are curved),I pinned a piece of denim behind the hole, tucking the ends underneath and over that I pinned a piece of this fabric. I’ve forgotten what it’s called, but it is for doing cross stitch over plain fabrics. The Sashiko is basically running stitch. I’ve used a favourite white rayon thread, which comes from the Handweaver’s Studio in London.

image

I drew some guide marks on the cross stitch fabric, but mostly did it by eye. Amazingly I didn’t go wrong once! I’m quite surprised.

image

Once I’d finished I started to remove the threads. They are held together with glue, which can be loosened by moistening with a damp cloth or sponge. They then pull out pretty easily, especially when you get a bit going.

image

Pulling the threads.

Here’s a close-up of the stitching.

image

Sashiko darning

image

Sashiko darning detail

Now I just have to see if it holds up to wear and tear.

3 thoughts on “Sashiko darning

  1. Pingback: First attempt at sashiko embroidery – The sailor crochet news

Leave a Reply

