Embellished bag

I’ve just added my page to the Wey Valley Workshop website and I had to include just one image of my work, which is pretty difficult. I chose this one of a bag I made following a workshop using sari strips run by Hilary Williams of the Silk Route.

image

It is made by weaving sari strips, which I then embellished. They weren’t very substantial, so I then embellished them onto a wool background. The header on my blog is from the fabric I made. I had this vintage bag clasp, which led to this bag.

image

I used some little gold beads when I stitched the clasp on. Originally I used a strip of felt for the handle, but it didn’t look right, so I made a new chain handle.
Here is the back of the bag.

image

Leave a Reply

